Sask Sport announces Athlete of the Year recipients

Rising local stars, international standouts and high-performance competitors are among the recipients of Sask Sport Inc.'s 2018 Athlete of the Year Awards.

They include Kurt Oatway, a Paralympic gold medallist from Regina, and Shelby Newkirk, a para swimming world record holder from Saskatoon.

The recipients will be honoured March 28 at the Saskatchewan Sport Awards in Saskatoon alongside eight other members of the province's amateur sport community. Recipients for Coach Dedication, Coach of the Year, Official and Volunteer Awards were previously announced in March.

"Every year, the Saskatchewan Sport Awards celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of coaches, officials, volunteers and athletes and we are incredibly proud of our honorees, including the Athlete of the Year recipients and finalists who have represented Saskatchewan with distinction both at home and abroad," said Leslie Blyth, Chair of Sask Sport's Board of Directors.

"Their accomplishments go beyond gold medals and first-place finishes. Through hard work and dedication, each serves as inspiration for all future athletes who want to set goals, commit themselves to sport and pursue their dreams."

And the recipients are...

This year's award recipients join a long list of Athlete of the Year Award honorees:

Youth-Female Athlete of the Year
Savannah Sutherland, Borden, Athletics

Youth-Male Athlete of the Year
Daniel McCullough, Saskatoon, Kayaking

Female Athlete of the Year
Shelby Newkirk, Saskatoon, Para Swimming

Male Athlete of the Year
Kurt Oatway, Regina, Para Alpine Skiing

Team of the Year
Team Sask Under-19 Women, Regina, Water Polo

Master Athlete of the Year
Ted Rowan, Martensville, Athletics

Saskatchewan Sport Awards Recognizes Outstanding Coaches, Officials and Volunteers

Sask Sport Inc. is pleased to announce the outstanding recipients of Saskatchewan's amateur sport 2018 Coach Dedication, Coach of the Year, Official and Volunteer Awards:

Female Coach Dedication Award
Andrea Wolf, Wapella, Softball

Male Coach Dedication Award
Kaspar Wirz, Saskatoon, Para Nordic Skiing
Udo Baecker, Regina, Soccer

Coach of the Year
Tom Sargeant, Saskatoon, Football

Female Official Award
Loretta Lyons, Outlook, Athletics

Male Official Award
Al Theede, Saskatoon, Cross Country Skiing

Volunteer Award
Derek Rope, Saskatoon, Athletics
Richard Smith, Fort Qu'Appelle, Golf

"Congratulations to this year's exceptional coaches, officials and volunteers for their generous contribution to amateur sport in Saskatchewan," said Leslie Blyth, volunteer Chair of the Board of Directors for Sask Sport Inc. "Your dedication and commitment to Saskatchewan athletes help fuel dreams and empower inspirational performances. It is the skilled and talented coaches, officials and volunteers that truly make sport participation opportunities possible in our province, and we thank you for your support and leadership."

These deserving coaches, official and volunteers will be honored at the Saskatchewan Sport Awards ceremony in Saskatoon on March 28. At the ceremony, awards will also be delivered to recipients of the 2018 Athlete of the Year award categories of Youth-Female, Youth-Male, Female, Male, Team and Master.














Thanks to the Production and Promotion Partner of the Saskatchewan Sport Awards

More than 300,000 Saskatchewan people participate in amateur sport, so we all win! Saskatchewan Lotteries is the fundraiser for over 12,000 sport, culture and recreation groups in Saskatchewan.